Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder

SYNOPSIS

Laying hands upon the injured and dying, Avry of Kazan assumes their wounds and diseases into herself. But rather than being honoured for her skills, she is hunted. Healers like Avry are accused of spreading the plague that has decimated the Territories, leaving the survivors in a state of chaos.

Stressed and tired from hiding, Avry is abducted by a band of rogues who, shockingly, value her gift above the golden bounty offered for her capture. Their leader an enigmatic captor-protector with powers of his own is unequivocal in his demands: Avry must heal a plague-stricken prince, the leader of a campaign against her people.

As they traverse the daunting Nine Mountains, beset by mercenaries and magical dangers, Avry must decide who is worth healing and what is worth dying for.

THOUGHTS & RATING

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Don’t worry,” I said. “These men are good. They’re going to heal the world.”

Read this last year and it definitely got me back on track!

The characters, or the “cavemans” which I like to call them (you’ll know when you read it), was what I fell inlove the most in this book. Belen the overprotective poppa bear, the very entertaining “monkey’s” Loren & Quian, Flea who thinks and acts older than his age and of course we have Kerrick – the bastard.

I feel like Kerrick has the most character development in this book. When I started reading this I absolutely HATED his attitude and everything about him, but as the story progressed and he started changing, my heart also slowly opened up to him.

Avry was such a soft-hearted and kind person that sometimes I want to go inside the book and shake her. Tell her to give more importance to her life. But she’s also a strong willed character who wouldnt just stand by and watch the people close to her get hurt.

The world building and magic system is another thing that amazed me while reading this book. Maria V. Snyder has a way with words and makes you feel like your there in the book with them gallivanting through the forest to get to Ryne, learning more about the magic they have and sitting front row while Kerrick and Avry argue. And let me tell you..insta-love was NOT present at all! 😂 I need to get to the second book of this and continue my adventure with Avry and the cavemans. 💜

Published by

Jaed 🌻 wanderlustbibliophile

🇵🇭 🌌Velaris 💻Blogger 📱Bookstagrammer 📚Just a girl with a room full of books and a passion for music and travel.

2 thoughts on “Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder”

Leave a comment